So, in the last two weeks leading up to the race, all sorts of ideas have found their way into my head. Like - "are you really sure about trying to average 8 min miles for 26.2"? Or, "what if you start to feel like crashing at mile 15, what are you going to do?" Lots of self-doubt is creeping in, LOTS. I keep reading the race prediction charts that are based off of previous race times and they keep telling me the same thing, 8 minute miles are within reach. I am having a hard time believing them though. Ahh, the mental games we play!
Enter the other side of this formula - I need a gadget to help me through this. Cue the intro music, "ta-da" the Garmin 405 Forerunner! With more features than a James Bond Aston Martin, the Garmin is the ideal solution (I tell myself!). So without further adieu, internet shopping here I come! It arrives today. I already have the software loaded on my Mac and I am in full nerd mode anticipating its arrival. Gawd I am stupid! $350, yes 350 bucks to geek out. I've trained all fall with just a basic stopwatch and a car odometer and somehow this is going to make me run better?
Oh, I'll use it...I love this kind of stuff. I'll have it tricked out and customized to my exact desires by race day. No worries there. Once the distraction is gone and I am focused again on the actual running part of a marathon, I will still be faced the ominous fact that I need to put one foot in front of the other and run. Simply run.
Who knows if I can hit the magic 8 minute/mile pace for the entire race. I'll have fun monitoring myself though in the process.
Monday, January 25, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment